Aged Care Sector Committee

Page last updated: 14 January 2020

The Aged Care Sector Committee (the Committee) provides advice to the Government on aged care policy development and implementation. The Committee also acts as the mechanism for consultation between the Australian Government and the aged care sector. Committee members consult within their own memberships and constituencies to ensure stakeholder views inform the policy development process.

About the Committee

Terms of Reference

The Committee's roles and responsibilities are set out in the Committee's Terms of Reference.


The Committee has an Independent Chair with membership comprising of representatives from across the aged care sector including:

  • peak bodies
  • large for-profit and not-for-profit providers
  • consumers
  • workforce
  • the National Aged Care Alliance; and
  • the Department of Health.

Independent Chair

Mr David Tune, AO PSM


  • Dr Nicole Brooke, Executive Manager Care Services of Aged Care Plus, The Salvation Army
  • Ms Samantha Edmonds, Managing Director, Ageing with Pride
  • Dr Stephen Judd, Chief Executive, HammondCare
  • Ms Claerwen Little, National Director, UnitingCare Australia
  • Mr Michael Lye, Deputy Secretary, Department of Health
  • Ms Maree McCabe, CEO, Dementia Australia
  • Professor John McCallum, CEO, National Seniors Australia
  • Mr Nick Mersiades, Director, Aged Care, Catholic Health Australia
  • Mr Graeme Prior, CEO, Hall and Prior Health and Aged Care Group
  • Ms Julie Reeves, Federal Professional Officer, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation
  • Mr Matthew Richter, CEO, The Aged Care Guild
  • Mr Sean Rooney, CEO, Leading Age Services Australia
  • Ms Patricia Sparrow, CEO, Aged and Community Services Australia
  • Mr Ian Yates AM, Chief Executive, COTA Australia

Ex-officio members

  • Mr Mike Callaghan AM PSM, Chair, Aged Care Financing Authority
  • Ms Andrea Coote, Chair, Aged Care Quality and Safety Advisory Council
  • Ms Jody Currie, Representative, National Advisory Group for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Aged Care
  • Professor John Pollaers OAM, Chair, Australian Industry and Skills Committee

Aged Care Sector Committee members' biographies

Read the Aged Care Sector Committee Members Biographies.

Meeting dates


  • 27 March 2020
  • 19 June 2020
  • 11 September 2020
  • 4 December 2020

Work of the Committee

Aged Care Roadmap

The Aged Care Sector Committee was tasked by the Government with developing a roadmap to advise on future directions for aged care.

The Aged Care Roadmap presents the Committee’s views on the short, medium and long term actions required to transform the current aged care system into a sustainable, consumer driven and market based system.

The Roadmap was delivered to the Minister for Health and Aged Care in April 2016. The Government has shown support for the Roadmap and it was considered in the aged care Budget measures announced in May 2018.

Aged Care Sector Statement of Principles

The Committee worked closely with the Australian Government to develop a set of principles which will guide future changes in the aged care system and embed a constructive and lasting partnership between consumers, providers, the aged care workforce and the Government.

The Aged Care Sector Statement of Principles (the principles) comprises an overarching Statement of Purpose, an Approach to Partnership and Explanatory Statements for the individual principles.

Red Tape Reduction action plan

The Committee finalised the Red Tape Reduction action plan which was agreed by the Australian Government. The action plan represents the first step towards reducing the regulation of the aged care sector. It sets out a range of actions that can be taken to reduce unnecessary red tape for aged care providers and consumers.









For more information email