Page last updated: 18 March 2015

This page contains information regarding residential aged care Accreditation Standards and the Home Care Standards.

The Australian Government's quality and accreditation framework provides assurance to care recipients of aged care services.  It involves creating management systems that use contributions from everybody associated with a service, both professionally and otherwise, not only to achieve a standard of quality, but to continually work to improve that standard.

Australian Aged Care Quality Agency

The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency (the Quality Agency) is responsible for accrediting residential care services and conducting quality reviews of home care services.

Accreditation Standards – Residential Aged Care

Aged care services must meet their 'accreditation requirement' under the Aged Care Act 1997 (the Act) to be eligible to receive Australian Government care subsidy for their care recipients.

Services meet that requirement by being accredited by the Quality Agency. Details of all accreditation decisions made by the Agency may be obtained from the Quality Agency's website.

The Quality Agency assess residential aged care homes against the Accreditation Standards which are detailed in the Quality of Care Principles 2014. There are four principle Standards and 44 expected outcomes which must be complied with. These Standards are:

  • Standard one: Management systems, staffing and organisational development
  • Standard two: Health and personal care
  • Standard three: Care recipient lifestyle
  • Standard four: Physical environment and safe systems

Standard one also has an ‘intention’ which indicates it acts as the umbrella for the other three Standards.

Home Care Standards

The Home Care Standards are also detailed in the Quality of Care Principles 2014. There are three Standards and 18 expected outcomes. These Standards are:

  • Standard one: Effective management
  • Standard two: Appropriate access and service delivery
  • Standard three: Service user rights and responsibilities

Failure to meet the standards

Failure by providers to meet the standards may result in the Department taking compliance action. For further information on compliance action the Department may take, please see:

Aged Care - Sanctions and Notices of Non-Compliance

Certification of residential aged care services

The certification requirement for residential aged care services was repealed in October 2014. Further information can be found at the Repeal of Commonwealth Certification of Residential Aged Care Services page.