About the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

Page last updated: 15 June 2017

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a new way of providing support for people with disability, their families and carers in Australia. The NDIS will provide all Australians under the age of 65 with a permanent and significant disability with the reasonable and necessary supports they need to live an ordinary life. This may include:

  • personal care and support
  • access to the community
  • therapy services and essential equipment.

The National Disability Insurance Agency (the Agency) has been established to implement the NDIS which has been launched in a number of sites.

The Agency will build relationships with mainstream service providers and the local community. This will improve their understanding about how they can assist people with disability.

The NDIS helps people with disability to:

  • Access mainstream services and supports

    These are the services and supports available for all Australians in the following areas:
    • health
    • education
    • public housing
    • justice
    • aged care
  • Access community services and supports

    These are activities and services available to everyone in a community, such as:
    • sports clubs
    • community groups
    • libraries
    • charities
  • Maintain informal support arrangements

    This is help people get from their family and friends. It is support people don’t pay for and is generally part of most people’s lives.
  • Receive reasonable and necessary funded supports

    The NDIS can pay for supports that are reasonable and necessary. This means they are related to a person’s disability and are required for them to live an ordinary life and achieve their goals.

Who can access the NDIS?

To become an NDIS participant they must:

  • Have a permanent impairment that significantly affects their ability to take part in everyday activities;
  • Be aged less than 65 when they first apply to enter the NDIS;
  • Live in Australia in an NDIS area on a specified date;
  • Be an Australian citizen or hold a permanent visa or a Protected Special Category visa.

For more information about the access process please see the Accessing the NDIS Fact Sheet.

NDIS roll out schedule

Roll out of the NDIS in all states and territories, (except Western Australia), has started. The current roll out schedule is available on the NDIS website.

Other NDIS topics: