Current quality assessment arrangements, including unannounced re-accreditation audits

Page last updated: 01 January 2019

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission is responsible for accrediting residential care services and conducting quality reviews of home care, Commonwealth Home Support Programme and National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program services.

Quality assessment against the Accreditation Standards

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission assesses residential aged care homes against the Accreditation Standards.

Residential aged care services must meet their 'accreditation requirement' under the Aged Care Act 1997 (the Act) to be eligible to receive Australian Government subsidy for their care recipients.

Services meet that requirement by being accredited by the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission. Details of all accreditation decisions are available on the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission’s website by searching for the specific organisation, ID or location.

The Department may also make decisions about a provider’s accreditation in “exceptional circumstances”.

Unannounced re-accreditation audits

On 25 October 2017, the independent Review of National Aged Care Quality Regulatory Processes was released. The Minister announced broad support for the direction of the report.

From 1 July 2018, unannounced re-accreditation audits apply to all residential care services that apply for re-accreditation. 

Unannounced re-accreditation audits are intended to capture a provider’s everyday performance against the Accreditation Standards.

Additional information for residential aged care providers is available.

Information is also available on the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission’s website.

Quality assessment against the Home Care Standards and NATSIFACP Standards

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission assesses aged care services provided in the home and community and NATSIFACP through quality review processes.

Site visits on Home Care providers are conducted at least once every three years, and at least once every two years for NATSIFACP providers.

Quality assessment against the Transition Care Standards

Transition Care quality arrangements operate under the funding agreement and Transition Care Programme Guidelines 2015.

Failure to meet the Standards

Failure by providers to meet the relevant standards may result in the Department taking compliance action.