Aged Care Sector Committee – Communiqué – 21 September 2018

Page last updated: 08 November 2018

The Hon Ken Wyatt AM MP, Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care, addressed the Committee highlighting the Government’s announcement intending to establish a Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety and the consultation process for its Terms of Reference.  

Mr David Tune AO, PSM as Chair of the Sector Committee, established a time-limited working group to review the Committee’s Aged Care Roadmap, noting it predates the Government’s 2018 Budget package, More Choices for a Longer Life. Members discussed the status and forward work plans of the Committee’s three sub-groups – Quality, Diversity, and Communication and Engagement and agreed on timelines for review of their Terms of Reference. 

The Department provided updates on implementation of the More Choices for a Longer Life Budget package measures including:

  • Progress on establishing the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission;
  • Development of the single Charter of Aged Care Rights;
  • Progress of the Action Plans being developed under the Aged Care Diversity Framework.

The Aged Care Funding Authority (ACFA) provided an update on the ACFA 2018 Annual report, respite care and the ACFA’s work program.

The next meeting is scheduled for 7 December 2018.