Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety

Page last updated: 31 October 2018

On Tuesday 9 October Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced the Terms of Reference for the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety.

This follows more than 5,000 submissions received from aged care consumers, families, carers, aged care workers, health professionals and providers.

The Honourable Justice Joseph McGrath and Ms Lynelle Briggs AO have been appointed Commissioners. Justice McGrath is a judge of the Supreme Court of Western Australia. Ms Briggs is a former Australian Public Service Commissioner.

The Royal Commission's interim report is to be provided by 31 October 2019, and its final report no later than 30 April 2020.

Further information about the Terms of Reference, as well as plans for submissions and hearings, can be found on the Royal Commission website.

If you or a family member have immediate concerns please contact the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner on 1800 550 552 or you can lodge a complaint online.